bookish talk

Cliches Book Tag

So I got tagged (a LONG time ago, sorry for that! I couldn’t find the post oops) by Ugnè @MY PASSION IS HAPPINESS, thank you! Also, give a follow right away because I love her blog!

On to the actual post 🙂

 

Actions speak loud: A book that wasn’t or couldn’t be better than the movie

I’m going to cheat here and choose a series: The Mortal Instruments. I haven’t watched the series myself yet, but I’ve heard so many good things about it and I’ve seen some posts and I was just like “yeesss!” Even people who didn’t like the books at all loved the series so I’m really excited to start it. I personally really liked the books so I’m curious what the series will be 😀

The grass is always greener on the other side: A rags to riches, or a riches to rags story

The Hunger Games, I don’t know if that’s what this means, but Katniss went from poor and having to hunt for food to living in the richest part of the District and I think that’s pretty much rags to riches.

The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree: A parent-child relationship that you loved

I’m also kinda cheating here because I can’t come up with anything and choose Blood of Eden. The kinda parent-child relationship between Allison and Kanin is just amazing. Not trying to spoil anything but oh my god. (I always find a way to put Julie Kagawa in my blog posts don’t I 😛 )

You can’t judge a book by its cover: A great book that needs a better cover

The book Numbers, where the cover from my country looks like this:

49971cca77c035c7474a215ffc2368a6

I mean, yeah, now that I’ve read the books they’re awesome but this cover seems, to me, not that interesting. Good thing the title was kinds cool and the book sounded interesting from what I read on the back, otherwise I probably wouldn’t have picked it up.

You can’t please everyone: A book that you hated/loved that everyone else hated/loved

The Selection. Almost everyone I know is in love with this series and I’m just here like.. “??” I mean, I read the books (not all of them to be honest), I even reviewed the first book here, thought they’d get better, and finally reviewed the entire series here. But I just don’t see what makes this series so great.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger: A book you are a better person for having read

The Help, for sure. This book is simply so amazing and also so painful sometimes. It made me think about how bad the situation was, and how glad I am that it has somewhat bettered, but not enough yet. If you haven’t read it: go read it! There’s been a movie made out of it too, and it’s surprisingly amazingly done.

Love is blind: A book you know is bad, you don’t want to admit it, or a book you don’t want to read in case it’s bad

I am going to agree with what Ugnè (please tell me I got your name right) wrote on this one wit House of Night. I started the series once, and they were really great but after a few books it just got more confusing and there were a lot of plotholes. I didn’t really like it anymore, and I stopped reading. I think I got to book 5 or something. I may start reading this series again sometimes, but it’ll definitely not happen within this year.

There is no time like the present: Your favorite contemporary book

Hate List. This is one of the few books I can come up with, because so many books I read are absolutely not contemporary haha! It’s an amazing book to be honest, y’all should read it.

Better safe than sorry: A book you don’t want to read in case it’s bad

I’m going with Angelfall here. I have started it, but I just really can’t get through with it and I’m afraid it really sucks 😦 The story sounds really awesome and I honestly don’t know what’s holding me back..

And that’s all! I loved doing this tag, and I hope you enjoyed reading it 🙂

I tag:

Cátia @The Girl Who Read Too Much

Sahiba @Susannahhtaylor

Ali @I Wuv Books

And everyone else who wants to do this! 😀

Check out all my reviews here!

-Luci


Find me on:

 

2 thoughts on “Cliches Book Tag

  1. ohh, thank you for your kind words! ❤
    I also love the Help movie. It's amazing! sadly, we don't have a book translated, but at least there is a fantastic movie. ( I actually really want to rewatch again now)
    And yes, you got my name right. Lithuanian language just have spesific different letters, so your keybord don't have them and you can't write differently. But I think that dash is the same as dot, hehe
    that's fun how we both are indesicive about House of Night series! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.