Book reviews

Book review: The Boy From The Woods

After all the dystopian and action books, this is a whole other read. It wouldn’t be something I’d pick up, but I found it at the library and it seemed interesting so I thought why the hell not and read it.

Title: The Boy From The Woods

Author: Jen Minkman

Goodreads link: English version // Dutch version

img_20161222_093639

Summary: Julia has a super crush on Michael, the hot guy from school. She’s been pining after him for 2 years, so when they spend the night together after the last school dance, it feels like heaven. However, after that, he seems to have lost interest in her and she feels broken and used. Until he gets into a serious accident. When he wakes up, he seems like a complete different person. He and Julia eventually get together, and he seriously cares for her. Meanwhile, Julia’s sister Anne is hiding a secret, a secret she can’t even tell Julia.

Okay, I’ll admit, at first I thought this was gonna be a really weird book. Since my library doesn’t have a lot of English books I usually read everything in Dutch, but there’s a difference between translated Dutch and original Dutch Young Adult, and usually the originally Dutch Young Adults somehow can’t bring me to like them. This book, however really intrigued me. It took me a while to realize it takes place in Austria, which explains why I couldn’t place the names for anything.

I’ll also admit that I first was convinced Michael had done something to Anne, but that’s because it usually goes like that. I had a hard time trusting him, because of what he had done. What was really wrong with Michael came as a pleasant surprise.

This book was originally Dutch (which is why I’ve added the Dutch Goodreads link), but it’s published in both Dutch and English.

Julia’s age is not mentioned in the book, but the fact that she drinks beer and even blowed one time makes her at least 18 or older (yeah, we still have the 18+ rule and not 21+).

As for the cover, I like the Dutch cover more, because it doesn’t have any real-life people on it. My experience with those kind of covers is that the person on it is supposed to be one of the characters in the book, yet I hardly find myself agreeing with ow they look based on what I read.

Overall this book was surprisingly awesome, and I’d recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy 🙂

Have you read this book? What do you think?

Check out all my reviews here!

-Luci


Find me on:

 

2 thoughts on “Book review: The Boy From The Woods

    1. Thanks so much for the comment! I couldn’t really figure it out by reading it, but I’ll change it haha 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.