Book reviews

Book review: Prodigy (Legend 2)

Back again with another review! I had originally intended to review this as a whole series (like I did with Vampire Academy, which you can read here), but since I only decided I’d read two series in December, that would turn out as a total of 2 blog posts, and yeah.. that’s not so much. Also, I’ve found that I feel less rushed to read the books when I review them separately and I remember a lot more if I write my review as soon as I finished the book. So, here’s my review for Prodigy!

Review of Legend can be found here

Title: Prodigy

Author: Marie Lu

Goodreads link: Prodigy

After reading the first book, I got really curious as for what happens in the next one, and I must say, I am not disappointed.

prodigy_marie_lu_book

Summary: It’s been 7 days since June and Day (barely) escaped the Republic. y days since Day’s brother was executed instead of Day, making everyone believe he died. with nowhere to go, they turn to the rebellions of the Republic, the Patriots. They join, but only on one condition: to help the Patriots bring down the Republic. But will it work when June and Day hear how the Patriots are planning it?

This book was even better than the first one! Even though the love triangle was still there, with Tess and June and Day, it somehow had more plot than the first. At some points I just wanted June and Day to be able to communicate -especially after what June had heard from Anden about Day’s little brother. And sometimes, I loved it when they were away from each other, making their own decisions.

Where in the first book June was obviously spoiled, she sometimes still acts like it in the second book, but not as much. I think she’s finally realizing life isn’t always perfect for everyone. Day kept being awesome, except I think it’s a little too early to tell June he loves her. Unless people actually know that after a month already. Except for the ending of the book he was regularly cool. I mean yeah I understand that when you know you’re gonna die you want people to care as little about you as possible, but still, it hurt.

As for Tess, I don’t know what to think about her. She was still awesome, because she’s Tess, but on the other hand her jealousy kind of bothered me. I mean, sure, I understand it’s annoying when the guy you’ve been with for so long suddenly has eyes for another girl, but they weren’t even together together. I really hope she and Day won’t become a couple in the third book because then I’m really going to murder someone haha

The cover is still not really something that stands out, however this one kind of reminds me of the mocking jay from the Hunger Games. Which is ironic, because both books end with forced peace.

Overall I loved this book, it follows up to the first book really well and I can’t wait till I finish the third one!

And what do you think? Do you like this series so far? 

Check out all my reviews here!

-Luci


Find me on:

 

5 thoughts on “Book review: Prodigy (Legend 2)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.